Why Do Girls Wear High Heels to High School?

2 Jul

Dear Losers,

Why Do Girls Wear High Heels to High School?

Katie, 15

Dear Reader,

I’m sure there are many reasons – they go better with their outfit, they want to be taller, they feel prettier,  or they just like annoying the administration (that would be my reason.) That’s great. If you want to wear them go for it. Everyone has a different sense of style. I am a girly girl myself and I love high heels.

But if you’re feeling pressure to wear them because other girls are, don’t. There is no need to wear high heels to high school.  School is for learning and socializing, not for cultivating hammertoes. There is plenty of time after school to throw on your stilettos. I know an older woman who wore high heels so much in her life – at work, after work, probably on the treadmill like Mariah Carey, that she can no longer NOT wear high heels.

What?! Nightmare scenario. She wore them so much it became extremely painful to not wear them. She even has to wear high heels to the beach. As someone who used to wear high heels everywhere, that was a wake-up call for me. I mean I love high heels, but to never be able to NOT wear them?

Me 20 years from now:

Hey Honey, can you go get the mail? I just don’t feel like throwing on my robe and heels.

As I said, NIGHTMARE SCENARIO!

Plus, wearing high heels while carrying a huge backpack, bookbag, iPad or whatever you kids use to learn these days can be dangerous. I learned this the hard way. (Are you really surprised?)

I remember, a brisk morning in September, when I was a senior in high school and decided to forego the dress code to wear platform sandals. I’ve always had a casual relationship with the rules.

Who cares, I thought. What are they going to do, send me home? They won’t even notice!

I was running late and overloaded with baggage, as usual. Not only was I wearing my backpack, but I was carrying two of those huge English anthologies that could double as a weapon, and a bagel. But at least I looked good!

Until I stepped onto a bungee cord, went flying down the stairs, and landed in between my parent’s cars. I don’t care how cute your shoes are, no one looks good wedged between a Mini van and a Ford Taurus. I screamed bloody murder, but no one heard. (Thanks Mom and Dad!) So I figured I must be exaggerating the pain, and I limped to my car.

By the time I got to school, I couldn’t walk. I hopped. Again, no one cares how cute your shoes are when they are wondering about your bunny hop/pimp swagger. My linebacker friend, Brandon, had to throw me over his shoulder and carry me to class. Valiant, but this clearly was not a long term solution.

Well you guessed it, I broke my foot. All thanks to vanity, and wearing those stupid platforms. If I wasn’t wearing them I

a. wouldn’t have been stuck in a damn cast for a month

b. wouldn’t have to sit out of my dance competitions

c. wouldn’t have danced spirit week in a super cool VELCRO orthopedic boot, and

d. I certainly would not have waited for my parents to pick me up afterschool alongside the loser-y freshman! Hello, embarrassing. It may be hard to drive in heels, but it’s impossible and lethal to drive with a paper mache’d foot.

There is nothing wrong with wanting to look pretty, or be stylish. But high heels and a heavy backpack is not the new black. It’s a potential safety hazard.

7 Responses to “Why Do Girls Wear High Heels to High School?”

  1. Beth St. John July 6, 2010 at 4:19 pm #

    New to this blog . . . LOVE it!

  2. Beth St. John July 6, 2010 at 4:20 pm #

    Attempting to sign up to this site via email . . .must leave comment . .. sorry for boring comment.

  3. genevieve July 12, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    right… because girls don’t try and look pretty for themselves, they only try to look good to get male attention?

    no. that’s wrong, offensive, and kind of sexist. i wore high heels all throughout high school because i like them, not because i’m “desperate” or “trying too hard”. not once did i expect boys to look at me just ’cause i wear high heels.

    high heels make me taller, they make me feel more confident, and they make me feel elegant. they also match my clothing style more closely. i wore kitten heels, platform wedges, stilettos, and high-heeled boots. i liked to express myself through my shoes instead of t-shirts or sweatshirts or whatever other kids wear.

    i don’t understand why girls can’t wear whatever kind of shoes they want – be it flip-flops, uggs, doc martens, or pumps – without being judged. would you write an article saying that people who wear steel-toed boots are all goths who cut themselves and want to die? hopefully not. so please don’t try and stereotype people who wear high heels either. it’s not fair. girls, boys, and people in between should be able to wear whatever they want.

    you claim there’s “no need” to wear high heels, that school is for “learning and socializing”. if that’s the case, why not just make everyone wear the same thing? yes, the function of school is to be a place of education, but it’s also a place where you get to express yourself through fashion. high heels are just another sartorial choice.

    the only case i can think of where someone shouldn’t wear high heels is if they can’t walk in them, like the person in this article. but for the record, i have literally never fallen or tripped in high heels. not once. so that’s yet another incorrect generalization made by the author of this article.

    and for the record, after a while, the people at my school got used to the fact that i wore high heels. yes, my shoe choice was probably surprising to a lot of them at first purely because wearing high heels to high school is not the norm, but when did anyone have to stop doing something just because it’s not normal? that’s an awful message to perpetuate. believe it or not, people’s lives don’t revolve around other people’s shoe choices.

    what you wear on your feet does not define you as a person. it doesn’t make you slutty, desperate, prissy, stuck-up, etc. you are who you are, not what you wear. one would hope that this blog would understand this message.

  4. Stop Being a Loser July 12, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    Hi there, I agree with what you’re saying. The main point of the post was that it’s a potential safety hazard, as it was in my case. Yes I am clumsier than most human beings so wearing heels when youre running to class with tons of books is not super safe. And I said I was wearing them as a fashion choice, just like many girls do. I love high heels and feel the same way. We didn’t mean it in an offensive way or sexist way. Obviously we feel girls should dress how they want and express themselves, but if they feel pressure to dress a certain way because other girls are they shouldn’t. It goes the same if no one is wearing high heels and someone wants to, then great wear them. We’ll be more careful about sounding judgemental. Thanks for commenting!

  5. fr23 July 21, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    my girlfriend always wears hi heels to hi school. she drives a 1956 chevy and always floors the gas pedal. she tops it out around 90mph.

  6. Mujaffar Ali July 21, 2012 at 2:07 am #

    In my point of view,D’not Wear High heels in college.You just wear only van and converse shoes.For more information about fashion visit smcfashion Website.

  7. Sasha Wood August 3, 2012 at 2:14 am #

    Ok…im just going to say something quick… i 15 ..and im laved as a slut at school,, i have no idea why… but oh well… i dont care what they think…anyway.. i started wearing heels to school in 4th grade…probably at the end of 3rd grade… but only on the winter time…. and no..they wernt needle heels… they were the whole thing..i dont knw the name..lol..but they were furry boots with proabably 4 or 3 in high heels… and in middle school i wore from 6in and below.. j cant walk kn them and ppl always laveble me as SLUT! … but the think is… check thia out…
    1: I HAVE NEVER BEEN KISSED
    2: I NEVER HAD A REAL BOYFRIEND… I ONLY HAD ONE AT 13 AND IT ONLY LASTED A WEEK…DURING TXT :/
    3: IM STILL A VIRGIN.
    4: I HAVE MORE GIRL FRIENDS THAN GUY FRIENDS…
    SO DONT BE USING STERIO TYPE…
    P.S. I ALWAYS WANTED TO B A MODEL… AND I ALWAYS WORE HIGH HELLS SINCE LITTLE….

Comments are closed.

