Breakup Songs that Aren’t Taylor Swift, Kelly Clarkson or Rihanna

20 Jul

Let’s face it. Those girls have the breakup market cornered. Taylor Swift, Kelly Clarkson and Rihanna are practically synonymous with the word breakup.

Like second nature, we reach for their CDs like we reach for our Kleenex with lotion and aloe tissues. (No one wants puffy eyes AND dry skin.)

If you haven’t been though a breakup yet, you will. Unless you marry your first boyfriend and don’t even take a break, which SUCKS for you! AM I RIGHT LADIES?!

Sorry.

Break ups are a right of passage. And right behind a pint of Haagen Daas Dulce de Leche, breakup songs are the best medicine! We’ve compiled a list of songs that

a) you may not know (in your defense some of them are before your time)

b) that doesn’t include the typical Kelly Clarkson/Taylor Swift breakup jams  ( love them, but give other songs a chance too! ), and

c) to help you feel and deal next time you’re reeling from a breakup.

I love  breakup songs because they don’t even have to accurately describe your situation, they strike a chord with you anyway. You find yourself standing up in bed and shouting,

All that’s left IS a band of gold! JERK!

Then you realize, wait I’m not married…

But still.

And if you really can’t relate, break up songs make great workout music.

Oldies but Goodies
Freda Payne- Band of Gold*
Neil Sedaka- Breaking Up Is Hard to Do
Ray Charles- Hit the Road Jack
Nat King Cole- Smile
The Carpenters- Can’t Smile Without You
Elvis Presley- Heartbreak Hotel
The Beach Boys- God Only Knows

Funnies
Plain White T’s- Hate (I Really Don’t Like You)
2gether- The Hardest Part of Breaking Up is Getting Back Your Stuff*
Puddle of Mudd- She Hates Me
Britney Spears- Email My Heart (I don’t think it was supposed to be funny)*
Brooke Allison- The Kiss Off (Goodbye) (Also not intended to be funny)*

Countries
Jodee Messina- Foolhearted Man*
Joe Nichols- Brokenheartsville
Clay Walker- Could I Ask You Not to Dance
Chely Wright- Shut up and Drive*
Keith Anderson- Everytime I Hear Your Name*
Keith Urban- Stupid Boy*
Gretchen Wilson- Homewrecker
The Wreckers- Leave the Pieces
Sheryl Crow- First Cut Is the Deepest

Angries
First Wives Club- You Don’t Own Me*
Gloria Gaynor- I Will Survive
Kelis- Caught Out There (I Hate You So Much Right Now)
Whitney Houson- It’s Not Right but It’s Okay
Kathrine McPhee- Over It
Christina Aguilera- Fighter

* Total tuneskies. If they aren’t already on your iTunes, they should be

What are your favorite breakup songs?


 

2 Responses to “Breakup Songs that Aren’t Taylor Swift, Kelly Clarkson or Rihanna”

  1. Jessica July 20, 2010 at 9:03 am #

    hahaha this is too true!! Even though I have never really been through a major breakup before, I often find myself compiling a breakup song playlist. Why? I honestly don’t know. I, however try to focus less on emo songs and listen more to revengeful or uplifting songs with a catchy beat or tune. My favorites– All American’s Rejects “Give You Hell”, Taylor Swifts “You Belong with me” and Beyonce’s “Single ladies”. haha

  2. locallycrafted July 22, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    love LOVE:

    Wild World by Cat Stevens
    Re-arranged by Limp Bizkit

    Keep writing ladies!

Comments are closed.

