Friends Don’t Let Friends Wear Shirts as Dresses

29 Aug

We’ve all done the dressing room twirl…is this a shirt or a dress? I think it’s a shirt, but can I make it pass for a dress?


If there is any doubt, please take the time to debate. Don’t hesitate to get a second opinion because friends don’t let friends wear shirts as dresses. If you’re by yourself, at the very LEAST, try the bend and snap before purchasing.

Maybe shirt dresses are a money saving ploy, a buy one get one free of sorts.

But mom, I can wear this as a shirt AND a dress!

You’re right sweetie. What the hell, get two!

I know the economy is less than optimal, but passing shirts off as dresses is not where we need to cut back.

The problem with shirt-dresses is many are just not flattering. They are strange, flowy, loose garments that do a 180 and become tight and banded at the bottom. I think this is a case where even Tim Gunn would say, “Don’t make it work. Just take it off.”

Of course there are other types of shirt dresses, and some of them can be really cute. Please just make sure the dress covers your square footage. You don’t have to be Conservative Carol but as a rule of thumb, if you can’t sneeze without giving everyone a free show,  it’s not the best choice.

Perhaps distinguishing shirts from dresses is a skill acquired over time. For example, my mom just bought my sister an item of clothing and said, “This is a dress for you, and a shirt for me!”

At least someone has it figured out.

Another clothing conundrum is the jean short. I went shopping for jean shorts this summer and I was appalled. And I don’t dress like a Mother of the Bride so that’s saying something.

I simply wondered, Why do they look like denim underwear?!

Or worse, why are the pockets longer than the shorts? Perhaps girls are looking to sag now too.

Don’t mind my pockets hanging out of my shorts, I’m just trying to match my boyfriend who has his boxers hanging out of his pants.


When it comes to finding the perfect pair of shorts, to each her own. Or maybe I should say, shorts for you, underwear for me.

