Quite Possibly the Shortest Advice Book Ever

19 Sep

I hate when even a good movie is long.

Me: That movie was sooooooooo long!

Friend: It was about the Crimean War.

Me: I know. It was sooooooooo long! And what was with Brad Pitt’s hair?!

Well Paul Arden’s book, It’s Not How Good You Are, It’s How Good You Want to Be does not have that problem.

Instead, it is awesome. And the title says it all. It’s not how good you are (though let’s not get crazy, being good helps.)

Have you ever met someone that has accomplished a lot or is extremely popular and you expected them to have a golden aura, perfect SAT scores, or at least a pleasant personality? But instead, you realized they are just human (and/or annoying/insane.)

If you haven’t experienced this yet you will. Over and over again. And instead of finding it discouraging, you should find it motivating. I find myself saying all the time, If that idiot can do it, SO CAN I! (Though not out loud, because that is rude.)

Or have you ever come across a simple idea and thought, WHY didn’t I think of that? Or worse, Hey, I thought of that!

Well then this book is for you.

Now I’m not trying to undermine or delegitimize successful people. I’m not a Bitter Betty and I am happy for anyone who becomes successful (as long as they aren’t a huge jerk…). I’m simply saying you are probably able to pull off more than you think.

The author, Paul Arden talks about how often successful people are not necessarily the most talented people. They aren’t necessarily the smartest and they probably didn’t win “Most Likely to Succeed.” They have the biggest, I mean they are the boldest people. As it says on the Barnes and Noble website, the book is  “a pocket bible for the talented and timid to help make the unthinkable and the impossible possible.”

So don’t get down on yourself because you didn’t get straight A’s, weren’t the most popular, or weren’t the best at any particular thing. Those things aren’t a prereq for success. Even the Bill Gates of the world mess up.

This book report is almost as long as the book, so you should probably just read the real thing.

http://search.barnesandnoble.com/Its-Not-How-Good-You-Are-Its-How-Good-You-Want-to-Be/Paul-Arden/e/9780714843377

