Sometimes I just want to stay home, but my friends are always pressuring me to go out. Is it lame if I just sit it out?

13 May

Dear Losers, 

Sometimes I just want to stay home, but my friends are always pressuring me to go out. Is it lame if I just sit it out? 

-Sarah, 16

NO!

How many times do we go out when we really don’t feel like it?  Then you just end up being the sour- faced girl in the corner that creepy guys walk up to and say, What’s wrong? Smile!

EXCUSE ME?! I’ll smile when I want to, Buddy!

And instead of smiling, you want to sock him in the face, but you don’t and the night just devolves from there.

Then not only do you not enjoy yourself, but your friends don’t enjoy themselves and you ruin everyone’s night. Way to go, Debbie Downer!

Wah wahh

My point is, if you don’t feel like doing something, don’t. Actually, I take that back. If you don’t feel like brushing your teeth or taking out the trash, that statement does not apply. There are some things that are non-negotiable and hygiene is one of them. Anyway, I digress.

You’re not doing anyone a favor by going out when you don’t feel like it. Don’t go out with your friends just so you can feel validated and say you went somewhere Friday night.

Plus if you live in the suburbs, ‘going out’ usually involves driving around aimlessly looking for something to do, giving up and going home. And if the local hot spots are still empty parking lots and Jack in the Box, don’t expect your frown to turn upside down.

You’re not a loser if you stay home once in awhile. We all have those nights when we just want to stay home in our Snuggie. Plus if you sit it out once in awhile, people notice and they miss you!

Hey, where’s Tricia?

Idk! I wish she was here!

(crowd cheers) Me too!

Then you actually end up looking sort of cool! They don’t need to know you were home watching Hitch on TBS. It’s classified information!

I used to force myself to go out when I didn’t feel like it because I thought it was lame if I stayed home when everyone else was out. I thought once  my mood changed the night would get better. But  most of the time the night doesn’t get better. It get’s worse for everyone. So  sit it out once in a while if you’re not sold on the idea. Your friends shouldn’t hold that against you or take it personally.

But what if they do?

I know peer pressure is hard to deal with, but if you’re set on not going out, you really have to commit to that decision. Let me give you an example.

One time, my friends kept calling me and pressuring to go out, and I kept saying no. I was really tired and I knew I was just going to have a terrible time, but they weren’t letting up.

Then as I was talking to them, I dropped my phone in the bathtub! On accident, of course. I don’t recommend going to extreme measures (or talking on your phone in the bathtub).

While I was disappointed about breaking  my phone, it was really old. And there was a silver lining. I realized,

OMG! Now they can’t even get a hold of me. I’m off the grid!  VICTORY IS MINE! Muhahahaha!

MUHAHAHAHAHAHA!

But then they showed up at my apartment building!

Shoot!! Just when I thought I was safe. I wasn’t planning on their extreme tactics, but I wasn’t going to back down either.

So I completely ignored them. They buzzed my apartment like 30 times and I didn’t let them in the building. I just sat there and giggled.

VICTORY STILL MINE!

MUHAHAHAHAHA!

So if you really don’t want to go, you have to put your foot down. Or drop your phone in a body of water and not answer your door.

Plus, there’s always next weekend!

2 Responses to “Sometimes I just want to stay home, but my friends are always pressuring me to go out. Is it lame if I just sit it out?”

  1. MsMay May 13, 2011 at 11:46 am #

    Yeah!

  2. Valerie May 13, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    I agree with you! It’s not like I stay in my apartment every time I’m invited out, but sometimes I prefer to stay in and relax, and I think that’s refreshing. Great advice!

Comments are closed.

