Motivating Monday: 5 surefire strategies for success…as told by very successful people

1 Aug

When you’re a kid you sort of just assume you’re going to be successful. That’s why kids go around saying they are going to be the next President of the United States, or Bill Gates,  or the Verizon Guy. Which is great, but it rarely leads to a discussion on what it takes to become successful. So here’s some great tips on success from some very successful people.

1. Fail. Because it means you’re trying.

Develop success from failures. Discouragement and failure are two of the surest stepping stones to success.
Dale Carnegie

Defeat is not the worst of failures. Not to have tried is the true failure.
George Edward Woodberry

It’s true. Yeah, it sucks to fail, but believe it or not it means you’re on your way. No one succeeds instantly.

OW.

2. Fail some more. (C’mon guys, failing is fun!)

I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life and that is why I succeed.
Michael Jordan

Remember that no one succeeds instantly part? Well no once succeeds overnight either. That is a myth and a poorly constructed phrase. Everytime I hear the term overnight success, I want to scream, pick up the phone and tell that person to check their math and fire their editor. A teacher of mine says,

“Success does not happen overnight. But when it happens, it happens quickly. After years and years of trying.”

MORE OW.

 

3. Figure out what you might be doing wrong and fix it.

In order to succeed you must fail, so that you know what not to do the next time.
Anthony J. D’Angelo

Formal education will make you a living; self-education will make you a fortune.
Jim Rohn

Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
Albert Einstein

The last quote is my all-time favorite. If you want to stop stubbing your toe, you should probably stop kicking your door. Now, that’s science.  Honestly, you can’t take the same approach that has never worked and just hope it’s magically going to work.

Try a new approach and see what happens.

4. Do what you want. Not what you think other people want.

I don’t know the key to success, but the key to failure is trying to please everybody.
Bill Cosby

Other people don’t have to live your life. You do. It’s impossible to please everyone (and STRESSFUL), so don’t try.

If Johnny wanted you to shave your head, would you? You would? Wow, Johnny must be CUTE. And a huge jerk.

 

4. Don’t wait for other people to believe in you. Believe in yourself.

A successful man is one who can lay a firm foundation with the bricks others have thrown at him.
David Brinkley

Belief in oneself is one of the most important bricks in building any successful venture.
Lydia M. Child

It’s our nature: Human beings like success but they hate successful people.
Carrot Top

In the past, I’ve waited around for people to believe in me or like me or validate me. But I don’t do that anymore. I realized with some people I may be waiting forever. And I don’t have that kind of time!

I also realized I was being stupid. Most of the people that cared about me did believe in me, I just didn’t believe in myself. So I try not to give my power away, especially to people that don’t like me.

You wouldn’t buy people who don’t like you Christmas presents would you? So why are you giving them all your power? That’s worth more than some lifesavers and lip gloss. Okay?

 

5. Be enthusiastic and keep going. (You’ve come this far! Have you learned anything, you idiot?!)

In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure.
Bill Cosby

Most people give up just when they’re about to achieve success. They quit on the one yard line. They give up at the last minute of the game one foot from a winning touchdown.
Ross Perot

Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.
Winston Churchill

Flaming enthusiasm, backed up by horse sense and persistence, is the quality that most frequently makes for success.
Dale Carnegie

Did you just laugh at the term horse sense too? It’s such a good one. I’m going to start using it.

Poor girl. Not a lick of horse sense.

Now get some horse sense, get moving and get on the path to success!

2 Responses to “Motivating Monday: 5 surefire strategies for success…as told by very successful people”

  1. DiamondHospitality August 12, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

    Ohhhhhhhhhhh I love this blog posting!!!!!! Right on target and it gives me more motivation.

    Thanks!!!

  2. Loser 2.0 August 13, 2011 at 12:28 am #

    Thanks! We all need a little motivation once in a while!

    Keep reading!

Comments are closed.

